Shailene Named as Juror for Tribeca Film Festival

April 18, 2012

NEW YORK TIMES – The jurors who will decide the winners of the competitive categories at this year’s Tribeca Film Festival are your usually unusual bunch of entertainment industry notables, including Academy Award winners, up-and-comers and the guy who manages Justin Bieber.

Irwin Winkler, the “De-Lovely” director and producer of “Rocky,” “Raging Bull” and “Goodfellas,” will be president of the jury, organizers for the Tribeca festival said on Monday. Mr. Winkler will also be a juror for the world narrative competition, alongside the actresses Patricia Clarkson and Dakota Fanning; directors Mike Newell and Jim Sheridan; and the film critic Lisa Schwarzbaum. The jurors for the world documentary category are the directors Michael Moore, Lucy Walker and Julia Bacha; K’naan, the Somalian poet and rapper; and the “Sex and the City” star Kim Cattrall.

In other categories: jurors for the best new narrative director include Whoopi Goldberg and Kellan Lutz, a star of the “Twilight” movies. Olivia Wilde, the “Tron: Legacy” and “Cowboys and Aliens” star, will be among those weighing in on the best new documentary director. Actors Hugh Dancy and Bridget Moynahan will help decide a winner for the narrative short film competition. And jurors for the documentary and student short film competitions include the actresses Susan Sarandon and Shailene Woodley; the “Tower Heist” director Brett Ratner; and Scooter Braun, the manager who helped discover Mr. Bieber.

This year’s Tribeca Film Festival opens Wednesday and runs through April 29.